Life on planet Academia

Why are dingleberries brown? That’s just the way shit is.

– Sgt Abraham Ford

Find what you love and let it kill you.. are these really the words to live by? Ever since I was little I was a hopeless nerd obsessing over minutiae of anything that science teachers threw at me – equations, leaf venation classifications, atomic orbitals. Choosing my PhD topic took many years of scientific maturation and every day I get excited (overwhelmed?) by the amount of unanswered questions in the field.

As a stubborn and relentlessly persistent nerd I have always followed my passion. The best decision I have made in life by far was ignoring family pleas to study a less obscure topic; I love my field and shrug at the thought of doing something I don’t enjoy for a living. Today, however, I find myself at crossroads. I always thought that talent nurtured by hard work were the ultimate formula for success but each day academia reminds me how naive I am to think that we get what we deserve.

People don’t get what they deserve. They just get what they get.

Dr Gregory House

I am not the first or the last person saying that the current culture measuring scientific impact in academia is flawed. Today becoming a PI is a lot like winning MegaMillions lottery – so much of our hard work depends on pure luck. And for the first time in my life I feel like I don’t have a plan to overcome these odds.

Existentially yours,

AM

incomplete

Leave a Reply

